The New Year

12 02 2013

Daisuke is off to Shanghai this week, leaving me to my own devices for my Chinese New Year staycation. Luckily, there has been lots to keep me busy – great music (Jinbo and Mykki Blanco, scroll down), cool new TV (‘Enlightenment’ and ‘Bunheads”) an interesting movie (‘Holy Motors’, more of which soon) and this blog, for starters.

I have also been exploring more of Hong Kong. The other night I was wondering through Kowloon when I came across a police cordon – the main Kowloon thoroughfare of Nathan Road had been closed off.

“What is going on?” I thought. Just then an explosion boomed and crowds rushed forwards towards the harbourfront – it was Chinese New Year fireworks.

The sky filled with blazing colour and circles that boomed, sparkled and faded.

It was a great moment, all the more because it caught me by surprise.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers

