The scariest house in Ramkhamhaeng

16 01 2011

Just before I arrived in Bangkok, researching interesting things to do in the city, I stumbled on to this website: “Thailand’s ten scariest haunted houses” via the ever-reliable CNNGO.

I decided to pick one of the houses and go for a visit – and why not start at the top? The “scariest house in Thailand” (a country obsessed with ghosts as it is) is in Ramkhamhaeng, a lively Northern neighbourhood better known for its universtity and sports stadium of the same name, and also (although I didn’t know it then) for its own collection of gay bars in the district called “Lamsalee”.

I must have been around the corner, but I only had one thing on my mind mind: the Spanish mission house on Ramkhamhaeng Soi 32. First though, I got off the bus waaaay too early and had to trek a solid couple of kilometres down the traffic-choked main road, lined on one side with student-y fashion stalls and on the other by the university campus.

By the time I had got to the right street, an hour had passed and I was already starting to feel the effects of the sun.

Maybe it was my semi-delirious state, but there did seem something creepy about the street. There were black, dead vines crawling over the power lines, swings creaking in the empty yards of cracked concrete ranch houses and a dead rat stuck to the road.

But try though I might I could find no sign of the Spanish mission house. It was here that a maid had once been murdered by bandits in her employer’s absence. According to the “scariest haunted houses” website her ghost still hovered, and the house’s owner had moved out, leaving the mansion desolate and abandoned.

I didn’t see it though.  I looked and I looked but – nothing. I did see blocks of shiny new condominiums – surely not built on the site of the razed house? ( Although, I rationalized, it had been standing empty for 20 years).

Apartments of the damned?

But with the sun now out in dizzying, head-throbbing full force, and having walked seemingly hours to get here, I decided it was time to turn back before I became a ghost myself.

I’ll save myself for the next round: the parking garage for buses that have been involved in fatal accidents, or the industrial estate where a shoe-making machine once exploded killing workers, and sending phantom shoes still flying through the air….

Actions

Information

One response

25 11 2013
seo plugin

Hello Web Admin, I noticed that your On-Page SEO is is missing a few factors, for one you do not use all three H tags in your post, also I notice that you are not using bold or italics properly in your SEO optimization. On-Page SEO means more now than ever since the new Google update: Panda. No longer are backlinks and simply pinging or sending out a RSS feed the key to getting Google PageRank or Alexa Rankings, You now NEED On-Page SEO. So what is good On-Page SEO?First your keyword must appear in the title.Then it must appear in the URL.You have to optimize your keyword and make sure that it has a nice keyword density of 3-5% in your article with relevant LSI (Latent Semantic Indexing). Then you should spread all H1,H2,H3 tags in your article.Your Keyword should appear in your first paragraph and in the last sentence of the page. You should have relevant usage of Bold and italics of your keyword.There should be one internal link to a page on your blog and you should have one image with an alt tag that has your keyword….wait there’s even more Now what if i told you there was a simple WordPress plugin that does all the On-Page SEO, and automatically for you? That’s right AUTOMATICALLY, just watch this 4minute video for more information at. Seo Plugin

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 358 other followers

