CLOSED: Tokyo treehouse

4 01 2016

img_5643_zps1j80xrns

I had been looking forward to visiting the “Hideaway”, a hippy-run cafe located in a treehouse in the heart of Harajuku. But when I finally got there, it appeared to be closed.

As so often in Tokyo, finding the venue was an ordeal but when I finally located it I realised that it was fact right next to the store whose name I considered borrowing for this blog back in 2008: Banal Chic Bizarre.

Sadly though as you can see from the photo above, the actual “treehouse” has been removed, as shown below in photos I found here.

hideaway_treehouse_cafe_harajuku_8480_zpsas6zh6g2 hideaway_treehouse_cafe_harajuku_8538_zpsplmofkpw

Instead I ended up eating around the corner, at a restaurant that served avocado cuisine (everything had avocadoes in it) and played great, deep house music.


Actions

Information

One response

5 01 2016
tokyobling

I was there a couple of weeks ago with a friend but it had been closed. I should have updated my blog really! RIP cute little cafe! I have passed that avocado place many times but never been in. Thanks for the review!

Leave a comment