Back to the 1970s

21 04 2016

I’ve recently been having a weird fit of nostalgia for the British 1970s. Something has struck a chord with me about that gloomy yet paradoxically colourful period so filled with anxiety at the time – the murmurings of punk, the bottoming out of the British postwar doldrums – and yet also, seen in the review mirror, quite sweet and innocent.

I think the start of it was The Falling, a lush and literal swoon, which I followed up with JG Ballard’s novel High Rise, in preparation for the forthcoming movie.

I’m keeping on, now reading John Wyndham’s 1975 sci fi novel Chocky, which I remember from a British TV adaption in my 1980s childhood, in which the protagonist talks about binary code and yet still retires to his study to write letters before dinner.

Very 1970s.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

